The more things change…

I had initially thought to collaboratively write on this blog site with my good friend “The Other Jennie” thinking it would be fun and good for the occasional laugh. I tend to be snarky and sarcastic under my breath and behind a keyboard. I have been getting laughs for years on my social media blog posts. The lack of posts on this site for the last year have been a combination of my being busy (living my real life off the internet) and the lack of material.

It really is the same 4 emails over and over.
1) I have about a dozen emails from users that I never replied to that deleted their profiles in less than 3 days
2) a handful of emails that just contain the word “hi” (or the real wordsmiths that add the word “beautiful” to that greeting),
3) the teenagers and early 20’s that want an older woman to take them to bed (sorry, I threw up in my mouth as I wrote that)
4) the heartfelt 3 paragraph email with no punctuation, no capitalization and horrible grammar that smacks of English not being their first language that laments on and on about finding their soulmate, that “special someone”, the one that completes them, it is so important to be best friends first…. it reads like a bad transcript of every Harlequin novel from the early 1980’s (and I read a lot of those, so trust me when I know I am reading a pile of crap). I promise you this is nothing more than a scam from somewhere in Nigeria and isn’t worth my reading more than the first 4 word as soon as I identify the lack of punctuation and capitalization.

My point is for more than the last 3 years I have had the same 3 emails over and over from multiple accounts. Nothing new, nothing different, I am drowning in a sea of wondering if the free dating site profile is worth the time. I really only have it up now at this point hoping that I might get some new material for this blog. It’s not easy meeting people with the work that I do and the busy life I live. I’m spending most of my time right now focusing on my kids and counting the days until they are off to college.

The reality of being a single mom of a certain age is I am going to be single for a long time more, and I’m good with that.

As the late, great Charlie Bradbury would say, “Peace out bitches!”  🙂

One thought on “The more things change…

  1. Just to prove my point, here’s today’s email….

    “Hi dear, how are you doing,Hope great. I am thrilled about your page here in this site and will like us to be very good ones together.hope to hear from you soon, i’m interested to know more about you. ”

    Kill
    Me
    Now…

Leave a Reply

